Governor Steve Bullock announced last week the United States Department of Agriculture granted a secretarial natural disaster designation to 17 counties who requested federal assistance after suffering losses caused by multiple disasters during the 2019 crop year.

“Montana farmers faced extraordinary circumstances this season with snowstorms, freezing temperatures and excessive rain that left them with un-harvested crops and in a dire financial situation,” said Governor Bullock. “I am thankful the USDA granted this secretarial natural disaster designation so farmers can access the critical resources they need to have a successful 2020 season.”

Governor Bullock sent two letters to Secretary Sonny Perdue requesting a secretarial disaster designation for several Montana counties that suffered multiple disasters including excessive moisture and snow, freezing, frost, hail and high winds. The designation will make producers eligible for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency, including emergency loans. 

The 17 primary counties designated as natural disaster areas include: Toole, Glacier, Pondera, McCone, Richland, Roosevelt, Wibaux, Daniels, Rosebud, Sheridan, Treasure, Valley, Dawson, Prairie, Teton, Cascade, and Choteau.

Impacted producers are encouraged to connect with their local FSA office.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.