Glacier County voters spoke loud and clear when they cast their ballots in the Nov. 3 General Election. Sending the message they wanted a change in leadership, voters elected Independent candidate Mary Jo Bremner as the new County Commissioner from District 2. Bremner was the top vote-getter with 2,822 votes. Democrat Brian Gallup was a fairly close second with 2,238 votes. Gallup defeated incumbent Tom McKay in the primary election. McKay then filed as a write-in candidate, picking up a mere 406 votes.

In the only other contested Glacier County race, voters were overwhelmingly opposed to funding a perpetual $908,089 annual Public Safety Operating Mill Levy. The levy went down by a vote of 3,602 to 2005.

Unofficial results were available shortly before 11 p.m. Deputy Election Administrator Crystal Cole reminds noted all results are unofficial until canvassed. The date of the canvas was not available.

Glacier County boasted 8,353 registered voters in the 2020 General Election, compared to 7,782 registered voters in the 2016 Presidential election. A total of 5,778 ballots were cast in this year’s “mail ballot” General Election, compared to 5,334 in 2016. Voter turnout was an impressive 69.17 percent.

The Public Safety Levy would have provided an additional $908,089 to the Glacier County Sheriff’s Office budget and would have primarily been used to fund the operations of the detention facility. Voters were not willing to pay an additional $48.89 in taxes on a house valued at $100,000 or $97.79 in taxes for a house valued at $200,000. If approved, the levy would have been perpetual, meaning it would be assessed on taxpayers’ tax bill every year.

Incumbent Clerk of District Court Janine Scott, a Democrat, was unopposed in her bid for another four-year term. She received a total of 5,161 votes.

In the House District No. 18 race, incumbent Republican Llew Jones was unopposed and received 794 votes in Glacier County.

Democrat Marvin R. Weatherwax, Jr., was also unopposed in the State Rep. for District 15 race. He received  733 votes.

Tyson T. Running Wolf, a Democrat, was unopposed for the State Rep. for District 16 and tallied 3,231 votes.

 Glacier County Clerk and Recorder/Election Administrator Mandi Bird Kennerly was notified on Friday, Oct. 30, she had been listed as a close contact of a person who tested positive for COVID-19. Glacier County Health Department Director Jenny Krapf advised Kennerly  she would have to quarantine until Nov. 11. 

“I remain symptom free and understand that this is simply a necessary precaution,” stated Glacier County Clerk and Recorder/Election Administrator Mandi Bird Kennerly in a press release on Election Day. 

“As the Elected Clerk and Recorder/Election Administrator, I am devastated that I cannot be in the office on this important day. I have great faith in my Deputy Assistant Election Administrator, Crystal Cole, and the rest of my staff, and know that they are fully capable of administering this election.” Kennerly said she was available by phone throughout the day, in cases her staff needed to contact her.

Even with the write-in county commissioner race, and Kennerly’s absence, most Glacier County election workers were finished and headed home by 11 p.m. Prior to Kennerly’s election as Clerk and Recorder/Election Administrator and her appointment of Cole as Deputy Election Administrator, Glacier County oftentimes was the last county in Montana to report election results to the Secretary of State Office. In 2018, which was not a Presidential election, unofficial results from Glacier County were not available until 7:30 a.m. the morning after Election Day.


Federal Races

In the Presidential race, Glacier County voters cast 1,882 votes for Republican Donald J. Trump and 3,603 votes for Democrat Joseph Biden. Libertarian candidate Jo Jorgensen received 123 votes.

Incumbent U.S. Senator Steve Daines, a Republican, received 1,685 votes and challenger Steve Bullock, a Democrat and current Montana Governor, received votes 4,024 from Glacier County.

In the race for Montana’s lone U.S. Representative, Republican Matt Rosendale received 1,781 votes and Democrat Kathleen Williams tallied 3,877 votes from county voters.


State of Montana Races

In the race for Governor, Glacier County voters favored Democrat Mike Cooney over Republican Greg Gianforte, 3,723 to 1,707. Libertarian Lyman Bishop received 244 votes. 

The Secretary of State’s race pitted Republican Christi Jacbosen against Democrat Bryce Bennett. Jacbosen received 1,859 votes in Glacier County and Bennett tallied 3,764.

In the race for Attorney General, Glacier County voters once again favored the Democratic candidate. Raph Graybill tallied 3,793 votes to Republican Austin Knudsen’s 1,847 votes.

Results from other state races are as follows:

•State Auditor: Troy Downing (R) 1,709; Shane A. Morigeau (D) 3,698; Roger Roots (L) 215.

•State Supt. of Public Instruction: Elsie Arntzen (R) 1,582; Melissa Romano (D) 3,867; Kevin Leatherbarrow (L) 202.

•Supreme Court Justice #5: Laurie McKinnon 3,509 and Mike Black 1,819.

•Retain Supreme Court Justice Jim Shea: Yes 3,991  and No 1,375.

•Constitutional Amendment No. 46: Yes 3,702 and No 1,571.

•Constitutional Amendment No. 47: Yes 3,666 and No 1,654.

•Constitutional Initiative No. 118: Yes 3,522 and No 2,079.

•Legislative Referendum No. 130: Yes 2,821 and No 2,669.

•Initiative No. 190: Yes 3,953 and No 1,6957.

For complete unofficial results of the General Election, log on to the Montana Secretary of State’s web site at: 



(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.